Why I don’t do 3D Animation…

Hello dear ones, hope everyone has had a great weekend so far! (If not, tomorrow/today is Sunday so you still  have one more day to make it awesome).

As recent readers know, we are done with the Once Upon A Time snippets and so the regular weekly adventures of our favorite aspiring magician, zombie inventor/uncle, and the whole rest of that character cast have ended. As I sit here with an adorable kitty in my lap and another at my feet (both of which are making typing very difficult but who can resist two purring balls of happiness wanting to cuddle up with you?), I am trying to make the second post following that “the end”.  I’m also trying to get this post completed by midnight so it will actually be a Saturday post. If I fail, I shall blame it on the cats. They’re cute, they can take it on a little blame.

SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA

One of our cats, Chloe, preparing to “assist” me with working on the computer. Yes, that rainbow butterfly cat is my actual desktop – it gives me warm fuzzies.

Future posts will include additional bits for what I call the dry erase board but also stories and animations, the latter of which I’m hoping to have another sample of soon. That being said, I will admittedly throw out there that it will not exactly be Pixar material, so Finding Nemo caliber of skill will not be present but it should be…interesting. From previous experience in both school and life afterwards, I have found that pretty much any animated character I create shall always see its destiny as being cute, sort of creepy, or a combination of both.

Did I say school? Yes, I actually have a degree in animation (Digital Effects and Animation Technology to be exact…sort of wish the degree didn’t have DEAT has an abbreviation, but ah well). I’m both proud and somewhat amazed that I managed to possess that degree. You see, I got into this whole thing because I dug stop motion animation (think Wallace and Grommit) and pursued what I knew was computer animation focused because well, lets face it, not many folks are really all that into stop motion it seems. And I had a hoot learning it, even though my brain is a sieve that lets all important info pour on through and my memory even in these still somewhat early years is dependent upon post-it-notes.

Cerebral_Enhance-O-Tron

Oh Calvin and Hobbes, if only it truly worked that way.

So I don’t remember a whole lot of that great learning unfortunately. And while I was all jazzed about my little bouncy ball moving across the computer screen, the kids next to me had dragons and Warcraft wannabe characters primping around that could have easily smashed my little bouncy ball. So, I knew even before getting the official degree that I probably wouldn’t be getting a lot of places drooling over my demo reel – and I was actually okay with that. One of my editing partners later became my husband (who still likes to joke with me that I did the old school way of finding a good husband by going to college) and I wouldn’t trade any of the experiences I had. But it’s high time I started telling stories with all that not-so-cheap training again. What you will likely see however will most likely be stop motion and maybe some 2D because, to be honest, 3D computer animation just isn’t what really excites me and probably more importantly, it’s not what I’m the greatest at. Let me introduce you to Bobble Head: bobblehead_end

Yes, this somewhat frightening image about is my creation. He’s a bobble head because I tried to model a person and could never get the proportions right – sooo, I deemed he was meant to be bobble head guy. In the actual animation, he rides along on his little tricycle onto the balance beam and falls off halfway. The blindingly lime green ball catches his fall and he safely lands back on his tricycle, and the still image above is him receiving applause from the crowd. I managed to get an “A” on this project but here’s what the instructor didn’t know – that’s not at all how Mr. Bobble Head was supposed to end his stunt. I had more, a lot more planned…but I also am very, very, very terrible at rigging. Anyone who knows anything about actually making characters move in 3D animation will probably know what I mean – if not, just know that it involves making the character move the way you need it to for natural looking motion. Except there was nothing natural about Mr. Bobble Head’s motion at all. As soon as I moved him even one frame further along from where he stands safely in that photo, his skeleton literally popped out of his body and the entire rest of the body became a golden mass of computer animated horror. I couldn’t make Mr. Bobble Head see such a fate (not likely have gotten a passing grade if I had) and so, instead, he nearly fell to his death halfway through and then got rescued by a strategically placed ball that the circus crew apparently left there.

So again, we’re going to probably stick with stop motion and 2D animation for what shows up on this blog in upcoming posts. Even though it may still not be the most amazing animations ever, at least I shall rest easy knowing that none of the characters experienced their skeleton ripping out of their body. That’s just a bad day that no one should have to experience.

Annnd, it’s after midnight…hmmm. Well, happy Sunday everyone! (Darn cats).

Leave a comment

Filed under The Dry Erase Board

Leave a Reply

