The MOVE

My “About Me” page proclaims me as being a North Carolina native still proud to call the state my home. While that’s certainly true for NC_to_GAnow, I’ll have to do some editing come this summer because my  husband and I are moving to Georgia in the neighborhood of mid-June to early July.

I met Isaac in an editing class back at Piedmont Community College in Yanceyville,  which is the type of town you may miss if you blink too long while driving through.  I needed the course to complete the animation program there and it was a requirement for his film degree.  Another thing easily derived from the “About Me” is the fact that, while I held a genuine interest in animation, animation didn’t love me back.

snowman

A still from “Snowman” back in my college days. In the animation, he reaches up to grab his carrot nose and eats it. (Hey, you can get pretty hungry hanging out in the snow all day).

It turns out I can write things like dark humor stories involving cranky zombies but when it comes to modeling and animating anything beyond something simple like a ball or a piece of fruit,  my prowess with the keyboard and mouse is far less amazing. Though I’m skillful enough obviously to have met the basic requirements for the degree,  places like Pixar aren’t exactly pining for bouncing bananas in their latest feature. bouncing_bananas  But while I made the not-so-natural transition to working in nonprofit and the human services sector, Isaac actually works in the field relating to his major (shock, horror). And while there’s been intermittent film work here in NC, the big breaks have come from Atlanta and the likelihood of consistent work is more likely there. And soooo, in a couple of months (yeesh, barely even that), we’ll be trekking down to the Marietta/Atlanta area.

Atlanta_nightNow this is exciting, awesome stuff and believe me, I’m thrilled about the idea of starting off someplace new and all the amazing things wrapped up in that.  And as we’ve been praying about our decision of whether or not to make the move, it seemed God gave a pretty bright green light when I learned the organization I work for is closing its Durham office this month and relocating all staff to the corporate site – which is an hour-long drive one way from home. That all being said, as the Junish-Julyish moving time steadily looms closer, there’s a wee bit of internal YIKES! going on. Our actual future residence right now is still in the form of potential prospects and while my husband has a definite job waiting for him, my future employment is a big question mark. moving_day_box Topping this all off with the general stress and semi-chaos that inevitably comes with trying to pack your everything into cardboard boxes, I need to take a pause on the story snippets until after our move. Believe me, it’s way better to take the break than for me to try squeezing in a few spare, scatterbrained moments to write and illustrate a story post during this time. The only alternative is for you to be left wondering at some point in late May why Uncle Albert is carefully bubble-wrapping glassware for an impending epic journey.

But I promise not to disappear until then (a simple 400+ mile move can’t get rid of me that easily). Though it will not be on the regular schedule of every Sunday, I’ll try to pop in every now and then with updates. So while the approaching summer will not pave the way much for continuing Sylvia’s adventures and misadventures, there should be plenty of my own iSANYO DIGITAL CAMERAn both categories. Hopefully more of the former and much less of the latter.  If anyone happens to have experience traveling a few hundred miles with three cats via the interstate, advice would be most appreciated. On that note, anyone currently living in Raleigh, NC happen to want a cat?

2 Comments

Filed under The Dry Erase Board

2 responses to “The MOVE

  1. Hope the move goes well and good luck with finding a new job 🙂

  2. Have a good move and enjoy your new state. We have friends there and they love it. It does get humid though, and the A/C is indispensable, but the people are great!

Leave a Reply

