A Case of the Ick

Ah, it’s that time of year again. The leaves are changing, the days are getting shorter, and the ick in its many forms is making the rounds. I unfortunately was one of the many to be sniffling and coughing this week – and that was not at all conducive to writing. And so, with a glass of OJ at my side, I must hang my head in shame a bit that this week’s deadline will not be met.

My biggest regret in having to give in to the ick is that I don’t even have a proper illustration to go along with this post. And, as in times past when I’ve ventured onto Google images for such a purpose, I’ve discovered that the choices available for royalty free images or clip-art leaves much to be desired. Perhaps I just don’t know the best place to look. When I did a search for free images relating to having a cold, this was one of my results:

The title of the image when I came across it was “Being sick is no fun.” And while our friend bearing a thermometer that looks like it’s about to explode does not fit my usual taste for an illustration, the title is quite true.

But mending has been the theme for now and next Sunday, I should be back to my usual self void of the lovely frog voice and with the next chapter snippet ready.  Here’s to hot soup and vitamin C!

2 Comments

Filed under The Dry Erase Board

2 responses to “A Case of the Ick

  1. If the OJ doesn’t work, try this: mix two shots of brandy, teaspoon of honey and half a cup of water, heat in a pot and drink. If anything, it helps inducing sleeping 🙂 Hope you get better soon. Need my weekly fix of Once upon a time girl!

  2. Ah, thanks so much! Luckily the OJ seemed to do it’s duty but your remedy sounds much tastier! It’s still early in the cold season so I imagine I’ll have another chance to that one out. Thanks again for the warm fuzzies!

Leave a Reply

