Once Upon a Time – Chap. 16.2

This is a lovely chat we’re having but those guards will come back eventually.” Seth glanced at the open door while flinging both arms toward his right, again keeping Arthur and Megan at bay. “This is probably as bad a place to be as that dungeon.”

How many guards?” Deigen stood in the cage and reached for his knives, being quickly reminded of their absence and kicking the bars in front of him again.

Seth shrugged. “It was only three and I wouldn’t worry about not having any weapons. All I had to do was stand in front of them and speak. Hmmm-” he raised both hands, pressing down the fingers on one while listing his heroic achievements thus far, “-dug my way into a dungeon with a shovel, found Sylvia and the children, scared away the guards who came to fetch them, and chased the children away to safety.” He wiggled his thumb with a proud grin. “I’m sure there’s at least one more thing to add, I just can’t think of it right now.”

V snorted, still choosing to remain in his squatted state. “Seth, what are you doing?”

Just counting off all the things I’ve managed to do while you two were sitting cozy in this library.” Seth shook his head with mock sympathy at the other hand, still bearing an an open palm. “The way I see it, that’s four points for zombies and none for vampires.” He stretched the hand out and waved his fingers in front of them. “Looks like you guys have a little catching up to do.”

Seth, no one’s keeping score!” Sylvia rolled her eyes while stepping up to stand between the two cages overhead. “I wish there was a way to open these things. I don’t even see a door or a keyhole!”

When the Keepers let you and Bastiick out, that woman chanted a bunch of gibberish and you both just fell through the bottom,” offered Deigen. “I think the only way to open them is to use magic.”

Seth gave Sylvia a side glance. “Er, no offense to anyone but I think the spell on these cages may be higher caliber than a young novice can tackle. I left a shovel back in the dungeon, I bet if-”

She hasn’t tried yet Seth!” snapped V. “Give her a chance before you go running off for some useless tool.”

Sylvia felt her face flush; the tone sounded reminiscent of reprimands for wanting to jump in while her younger siblings fumbled through simple tasks like sewing a button. She couldn’t help but feel even more like a useless child. “No, Seth’s right, I wouldn’t be able to open the cages.”

Sylvia, don’t give up before you’ve started.” V leaned forward, his smile of encouragement foiled by the two pointy fangs. “Try first.”

Then give up,” Seth muttered under his breath a bit louder than he probably intended. He cleared his throat upon the vampires giving what would otherwise suggest death stares if not for the fact he was far past the point of that being a concern. “Sorry, Sylvia, give it a shot.”

4 Comments

Filed under Once Upon a Time

4 responses to “Once Upon a Time – Chap. 16.2

  1. William Stadler

    Really good, Julie! My favorite line: “Just counting off all the things I’ve managed to do while you two were sitting cozy”

  2. mickey

    Hello there! It’s Mickey & I wanted you to know that I did get your comment & I thank you.
    My comment right now is that this type & background color make this really hard to read – esp. on my old laptop.
    Thanks,
    Mickey

    • Wow, you mean there was FINALLY success in passing the top security clearance needed to post a comment? Awesome! I was beginning to think your blog just hated me. 🙂

      Thanks for letting me know about the reading issues – not sure if there’s much I can do about the background with this theme but will definitely try out a different font/font color if it’s causing people to do eye acrobatics.

Leave a Reply

