Happy Birthday to Me!

So today is my birthday and I am officially a certain digit between 1 and 1000 that shall remain nameless aside for the fact that it is certainly not 33.  Of course, I did the usual celebratory things of going out to dinner, eating something sweet and yummy (a chocolate covered orange rather than cake today), and enjoyed a lovely birthday beer. Okay, perhaps that last one is not so usual, but La Fin du Monde from Unibroue is certainly a brew worthy of any reason to celebrate. Or, hey, drink it with Monday night pizza if you wish.  Either way, yummers!  http://www.unibroue.com/en/beers/la_fin_du_monde/ (Yes, I know the name translates as The End of the World. Ignore that fact and enjoy).

Though my husband did bring up a good point earlier – why does anyone make a big deal out of birthdays at all? Why can’t the other 364 days of the year be just as special? It brings back to mind the time off  I took from work not too long ago (“mental heath days” I believe is the trendy thing the kids are calling it these days). I made a point of doing at least one special/out-of-the-ordinary thing each one of those wonderful, blessed days – even if the something special was just taking a walk somewhere off the beaten path. And while that’s all well and good, the question can still be rightfully posed: why can’t everyday have a little bit of awesome added to it? Making the day special doesn’t have to be expensive or anything over-the-top. My walk didn’t cost me dime and probably wouldn’t be considered amazing (now if the squirrels I passed by starting doing a song and dance number upon my arrival, I suppose that would have been amazing. But alas, there were squirrels but no singing or dancing.)

The point I’m meandering to is that each day is special if we let it be. Yes, I know that comes off sounding rather ABC Special-esque, but it’s true nonetheless. Like I said, it doesn’t have to be anything super amazing, just something that adds a little extra memory to the 24 hour period that otherwise just includes working, eating, errands, showering, and sleeping. And by adding just a little spice to the regular and mundane, we can make everyday a birthday.

Make a wish!   🙂

2 Comments

Filed under The Dry Erase Board

2 responses to “Happy Birthday to Me!

  1. Happy B-Day, a little behind but, Happy B-Day!!

  2. Thanks Mickey! Hey, belated birthday greetings just make the days after the birthday better! 🙂

Leave a Reply

